DIY Fine Art Gallery

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

Good Afternoon and thanks for joining us for another project! I’m very excited about today’s project — it’s all about ART. I don’t know how many fine art enthusiasts we have in our audience, but I assure you this project won’t disappoint. Here is an art display that is sure to suite anyone’s taste…

20131115_140235

Talk about a fine art collection! Isn’t it adorable? I absolutely love, love, love this idea! I’ve struggled for a very long time with keeping our artwork pinned on the refrigerator. It seemed I was always losing magnets, papers floating to the floor, hope that’s just water that it landed in!… all just to get out the gallon of milk. I even started putting artwork on the side of the refrigerator, but that was over the trash can so guess where our precious artwork ended up then? The land of no return.

So after reviewing different layouts from different websites and photo galleries, I decided I liked the photo frame idea. This worked great because we have a ton of “generic” frames laying around begging to be repurposed. I also just happened to have some corkboard laying around that did not serve it’s intended purpose, so I cut the tiles to size and was able to reuse them as well. As a matter of fact, the only expense I had for this project was a few adhesive strips, I had the brown vinyl already, too! It’s a win-win anytime I get to repurpose old supplies and create beautiful projects at the same time! As always, here are a few in progress photos and short tutorial.

First, I secured the corkboards to the wall using adhesive strips.

20131115_134140

20131115_131040

Second, I centered the corkboard and glued the frames to the wall. Yep, just hot glued them straight on there. The best idea? Probably not, but hey, it’s too late now anyways. It’ll give me a reason to repaint the walls when I redecorate.

20131115_134149     20131115_134157

Third, I cut the vinyl on my fabulous Silhouette Cameo cutting machine and transferred it directly to the wall. For any true artists out there, you could paint the gallery verbiage onto your wall if you so choose. Any not artisans, there are many resources available for to purchase custom vinyl.

 20131115_140001

The hardest part of the project is lining up the frames, corkboard and vinyl on your wall. Honestly, I lined mine up by sight, not a method I recommend at all. There are a variety of methods from a measuring tape to laser lines, so just use what works best for you.

20131115_140015

Thanks again for joining us today. Hope you enjoyed our project! Keep tuned for more fun, we’re getting into the holidays and will be ringing in the season with lots of fun projects (and goodies!) to come!  Don’t forget to subscribe to our blog via email to have our posts delivered straight to your inbox!  Have a great weekend!

Shared with:

Awesome Things Tuesday  http://www.sowderingabout.com/2013/11/awesome-things-tuesday.html

The Weekly Creative #39  http://www.thegirlcreative.com/2014/01/02/weekly-creative-39.html

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “DIY Fine Art Gallery

  1. GetSilvered November 20, 2013 at 6:50 am Reply

    What a wonderful idea – sure beats the magnet on the fridge display method 😉

    • mypapercraze November 20, 2013 at 2:46 pm Reply

      We really enjoyed it and the boys love hanging their art in the “gallery” LOL Thanks for checking us out!

Leave a Reply

