DIY Peppermint Body Scrub

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

Good Afternoon and welcome to another fun crafting journey! Thanks for your patience with the later-than-usual post today. I’ll give you a short intro and maybe it’ll help to also describe why today’s post is so vital to your sanity (and mine!). Hubby wanted to go hunting today (!) so it was up to me to get everyone ready and off to school. For most people this is a daily routine, but most days I’m just luck to have matching shoes. Now, let me start by saying that I’ve been terribly sick for the past week, which means that I started to get behind on my crafting (eek!). So, it’s been nothing but long days and longer nights trying to get everything done for some upcoming deadlines. So, after late night # 5,681,327… guess who oversleeps this morning (of all mornings!). ME. So I rush out of bed and call my emergency bail-me-out-of-this-situation resource… MOM. Let’s just say that in less than 40 minutes we were all ready and out the door, me on my way to work and Mom taking the kids to school and babysitting the little angel. Geez, what a close call. So off to work, trying not to get a speeding ticket, work work work all day long, come home and do it all over again. Moral of the story is… doesn’t every day seem like this in one way or another? I know some days are easier than others, but it just seems like a never-ending cycle! So, I just want to say how important it is to take ME time, even if that means hiding in the closet for five minutes to stuff your face with a candy bar so you don’t have to share. It’s okay, we all do it. I keep cookies in my car, but that’s our little secret, right?

So today we bring you a fun and simple DIY craft that you (and your girlfriends!) are sure to enjoy. It’s also a wonderful way to plunge right into your holiday crafts with no special tools required, yay! BUT the most important part of today’s project… you get to earn some ME time because you just HAVE to test this out! I mean, how can you give it to your friends if you haven’t tried it yourself? So… enjoy!

peppermintcandy1

As with all instructions, please read all the way to the end BEFORE you plunge into this project.

Ingredients:
1 cup of Epsom Salt
1/4 cup of Olive Oil
10-15 drops of Peppermint Essential Oil
Red food coloring

Makes twelve (12) 4-ounce jars

1. Combine Epsom Salt, Peppermint Essential Oil and Olive Oil into a bowl and mix well.
2. Separate the mixture into two halves, two separate bowls.
3. Add 2-3 drops of red food coloring to one half and mix until colored evenly.
4. Spoon a small amount of white mixture into the jar and smooth into an even layer.
5. Repeat with the red/pink mixture. Continue layering the colors until the jar is full.
6. Screw on lid and tada – DIY Peppermint Body Scrub!

You can’t leave a cute little jar like this naked! We used some red and white bakers twine and tied a cute little tag on there (including an ingredient list). We also layered a red and white stripped pattern paper from our Christmas stash to a little extra pazzazz. Who wouldn’t love to get one of these in their stocking?

100MEDIA_IMAG0101-1-1

100MEDIA_IMAG0102-1-1

Epsom salt and olive oil can be purchased at your local grocery store.  Most of you already have bakers twine or some other sort of ribbon in your crafting stash.  But where do you get the cute little jars and Peppermint Essential Oil?  Let me show you my secret weapon.  Here are the jars and oil I purchased from Amazon (approx.. $24 total).  But wait, that’s not the best part… with Amazon Prime these items are eligible for FREE 2DAY SHIPPING!  Now, I do not work for Amazon or receive any compensation from them in any way, but I must say that Amazon Prime is one of the best investments of my life.  Everyone is eligible for a free trial, though, so check it out today, you won’t be sorry!  Okay, enough of that.  But seriously, try it out.  So I bought these off of Amazon and they worked perfectly!

jar

Ball Jar Crystal Jelly Jars with Lids and Bands, Quilted, Set of 12 – 4 ounce

oil

Organic Peppermint Essential Oil. 30 ml (1 oz.) 100% Pure, Undiluted, Therapeutic Grade

Now, I haven’t tried any other combinations as of yet, but I bet this scrub would work perfectly with just about any type of scented oil.  I’m totally adding this on my to-do list for the future… I’ll have a whole collection of jars before I’m done, LOL.  Speaking of jars, anyone have any of those cute glass baby food jars?  I know I do!  Maybe I don’t need to purchase more jars after all…

Thanks again for joining us today!  We sure hope you enjoy this super easy recipe and don’t forget to share with all your girlfriends!  Be sure to comment below if you have any other fun and easy ME time recipes to pass along to the group!

Sharing with:

Tell Me Tuesday #46 http://www.lilmrstori.com/2013/11/tell-me-tuesday-46/

Just Because November Linky Party http://justbcreativecrazy.blogspot.com/2013/11/novembers-linky-party.html

Sunday Funday #15 http://everydayisanoccasion.com/sunday-funday-15/

Inspire Me Fridays Linky Party http://asimplefive.blogspot.com/p/inspire-me-fridays.html

Give Me the Goods #35 http://www.maisondepax.com/2013/11/give-me-the-goods-no-35.html

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “DIY Peppermint Body Scrub

  1. Beckie November 20, 2013 at 2:37 pm Reply

    Great project. Love those lil jars.

    Thanks for linking up in November’s Just Because Linky Party.

    Be blessed, Beckie
    Just B Creative Crazy Blog
    Sparkly Sweet Craft Notions Blog

    • mypapercraze November 20, 2013 at 2:46 pm Reply

      Thanks, Beckie! Glad you could stop by!

  2. […] DIY Peppermint Body Scrub […]

Leave a Reply

