Must Have Tools for Scrapbookers

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

Good… Evening? Wow, ever have one of those days where time just gets away from you? No, not you, lol. Well, I have those days all the time. I officially started a week long vacation (yay!) and now all my days are lost in the crafting abyss! But tonight’s post will be a good read for any soon-to-be crafters or newbies. It’s a list of must have tools for Scrapbooking! Don’t let the name fool you, many of these tools come in handy for other crafts, too. Also, I thought this would be a good time to start on that Christmas list to mail off to Santa… LOL.

If you do not have Amazon Prime, stop what you are doing and go sign up for your FREE trial membership.  I promise it is one of the best investments you will make!  Especially with all this crafting, I don’t have time to always run back and forth to the store to pick up all the tools and supplies that I need.  With Amazon Prime, I get FREE 2-Day shipping on all eligible items!  It’s a sweet deal in my opinion.  Here, I’ll make it easy for you.  You’re welcome.

All signed up for your trial?  Good!  That’ll make it even easier… I’ve linked all my recommendations to Amazon so you can just bounce on over—just click on the photo!  AND all of these items are Amazon Prime eligible.  I know, how generous of me!  You’re welcome (again).

First and foremost, go by a good pair of scissors. Quite frankly, I don’t care if you go to the dollar store, but buy one pair of scissors dedicate strictly to papercrafting. Have kids or a husband, then also buy a chain and lock to keep them safe or you might find them confinscated for opening a freezie pop. Yep, sticky mess all over them, just have to donate them to the cause and buy another pair. If you are not going to the dollar store, I recommend Fiskars Scissors 8″ Bent Performance Zebra.  Are they the best scissors out there?  Maybe, maybe not.  But they get the job done and they are pretty.  Enough said.

Second, every crafter needs a paper trimmer.  “What, I just bought a new pair of scissors, why do I need a paper trimmer, too?”  Because… this nifty tool cuts in a straight line better than you can.  PLUS, you will find five million things that it is good for above and beyond paper.  Fabric?  Check.  Ribbon?  Check.  I suggest a rotary cutter.  They are slightly more expensive to begin with, but I have found that the blades last longer (still on my first one!), they come with optional blades (like perforated edge or wavy line), and they don’t tear delicate paper because the blade slices through like a pizza cutter instead of forcing a blade to slide through.  I use Fiskars 154470-1001 Folding LED SureCut Rotary Paper Trimmer, 12-Inch.

I spent the first half of my crafting life with tears and seared fingertips thanks to my wonderful hot glue gun.  Did you know they made low temperature glue guns that make them more bearable?  Well, I didn’t, lol.  I finally picked one up and haven’t put it down since.  Again, I’m not convinced at this point that brand matters.  I know others will tell you differently, but I love the fact that if mine goes out tomorrow, I won’t be crushed at the huge investment I just lost.  I use Ad-Tech – Temp Mini Glue Gun and it works just fine for me AND it comes in pink.

This next tool is for scrapbookers.  If you are not a scrapbooker, please skip ahead, lol.  BUT, if you are a scrapbooker (or cardmaker) this little tool is just what you need… a tape glider!  I’ll jump to the chase.  This little adhesive dispensing gun is a piece of cake to use once you give it a shot and the refillable tape is great on a budget compared to smaller adhesive dispensers.  But my favorite part is that if you put it in the right place, just slap your paper or cardstock on top and wham, it’s done.  No waiting for glue to dry or any of that nonsense.  BUT say you rolled some tape on there and realized you wanted it on the other side (I know you’ve done it a time or two!), you just rub the adhesive right off with your fingers.  Can you say OMG?  Removable adhesive?  Absolutely.  So roll your little heart out.  This beauty is the Scotch CAT 085 Advanced Tape Glider with 2 Rolls of 1/4-Inch by 36-Yard Acid Free Tape, Cure Pink.

Need something to glue down smaller detail items?  I’ve got that covered, too.  I’ll warn you, though, this one is not removable.  You can usually erase it off with a standard pink school eraser, though.  But you’ll be surprised how many times you find yourself reaching for this little guy, it’s amazing!  EK Tools Zig Memory System 2-Way Squeeze and Roll Glue Pen.

Now this next little tool is another cutting utensil.  It may be small but it packs a big punch!  In the world of crafting, there is always a need for trimming and piecing and slicing and this does the trick!  I absolutely could not go one day without my craft knife.  I haven’t tried any others, but my Fiskars 12-67007097 Softgrip Craft Knife has worked fine.

Got your shopping list all made out?  It’s just not complete without throwing in one more item… a cutting machine!  Now, I know this one is not a “must-have”, but I want to put it out there before anyone makes the mistake I did and buys a Cricut.  Also, let me say this… I loved my Cricut while I had it.  I’m sure that many people out there are loyal Cricut users and there is nothing wrong with that.  BUT, before you buy a cutting machine, look up comparisons of the Cricut and the Silhouette.  In my humble opinion, Silhouette leaves the Cricut in the dust.  I won’t go into details, but I will say that the Silhouette is available in two sizes, depending on your need and your budget, so don’t mark it off your list as “too expensive” until you consider what you would spend in embellishments at the craft store that you could cut with your own machine!

Silhouette Portrait

Silhouette Cameo

We have both in our little crafting family and they haven’t let us down yet!

So now that your list is complete, go ahead and seal it in an envelope and mail it to the North Pole so the elves have plenty of time to put in an order at Silhouette America, LOL.  Did I mention FREE 2-day shipping on all of these items?  I know Amazon Prime has a ton of features, but that is really my favorite one.  Hop on over to Amazon and check out for more information.

Well I hope everyone found at least one new tool to add to their crafting shopping list!  With the holidays upon us, what better time to break out the old crafting supplies and get started on some handmade Christmas crafts or presents!  Be sure to stay tuned for more great projects to come!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

