DIY New Year’s Eve Decorations

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

Good Evening and I hope everyone had a fabulous Christmas!  We sure did and enjoyed our much needed break!  Thanks for being patient with us while we celebrate and regrouped!

It’s hard to believe that 2013 is coming to a close.  Where does the time go?  It’s been  a whirlwind of excitement for us this year…  Between our new Etsy shop, Facebook page, and blog, it’s been absolutely crazy at times.  But we love every minute of it!  There is nothing more rewarding than to get to share your creations with others and (hopefully) inspiring some new projects along the way.

Today I’m working on a few decorations for a small get-together we’re having New Year’s Eve.  Nothing fancy, just family and a sleepover with the grandkids.  I went straight to Pinterest for some ideas… definitely my go-to when I’m lacking in the creativity department!  Man, can you say overload?  I do this every time, a simple search and  >bam<, information overload, lol.  From simple to extravagant, it’s all laid out there for your choosing.

My challenge this year is to use my supplies on hand because I have so much left over from Christmas crafts.  If you are a crafter, you know exactly what I’m talking about!  From ribbon to cardstock to wreaths and mesh and the list goes on and on.  While searching my various storage areas, I spotted some champagne flutes that were left over from a prior celebration.  I remembered a post on Pinterest where the flutes had been dressed up with glitter.  I don’t have any glass ones but I figured my plastic ones from my “stash” would work just as well.  So this was my starting point and also set the stage for my color scheme.

Photo 2 (2)     Photo 1

I decided to glitter only the base of my glass.  I used blue painter’s tape around the bottom of the stem.  The next step was to apply glue to the portion you want to glitter.  I had Minwax Polycrylic on hand but you could use craft glue, Mod Podge, or spray adhesive.

Photo 1 (2)     Photo 2 (4)     Photo 2 (3)

Photo 1 (3)

While my glue was still wet, I sprinkled my glitter to completely cover the entire surface.  Don’t worry about an even coating, just pour the glitter on in heaps and shake off what you don’t need.  Remember to lay down a newspaper or other collective material under your craft area to catch the excess glitter.  This way you can funnel the excess back into the container for future use.  I had Recollections glitter from Michaels.  The red is extra fine and the silver is tinsel glitter.  They both adhered nicely but the extra fine did create a smoother finish.  I think it’s just a matter of personal preference.

The final step was to remove the tape and set it aside to dry.  You could actually skip the tape all together but I like the clean line it gives the finished project.  Another option is to put a final coat of glue on top of the glitter to seal it.  I won’t be reusing mine so I skipped this step.

Photo 2 (5)

I was so happy with the results that I used the same technique on a candle and it turned out fabulous.  This is such an easy way to spruce up everyday items to get a more festive look, I hope you give it a try.  If you have a Silhouette (or other cutting machine) you could even cut a stencil design with any extra vinyl you have laying around.  (You would peel away the design to leave a negative, wrap the negative around the glass/candle, apply the glue and glitter, then remove the vinyl to reveal your design).

I have a few more ideas for our little celebration, check back on Tuesday and see what I’ve come up with.

What are your plans for New Year’s Eve?  We’d love to hear what your family is doing to usher in 2014!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “DIY New Year’s Eve Decorations

  1. savvyshaela December 30, 2013 at 11:08 pm Reply

    Love it!!!

  2. savvyshaela December 30, 2013 at 11:08 pm Reply

    Love it soo beautiful!

    • mypapercraze December 31, 2013 at 12:04 am Reply

      Thank you. It’s so simple to do but really makes a big difference.

Leave a Reply

