Valentine’s Day Shadow Box

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

empty-picture-frame-pngblack-frame--empty--choo-choo-clan-art-gifts-hltwg5a0

Can you feel the love in the air?  They say holidays are what you make them, but I always feel that there is a little extra romance added in on Valentine’s Day that comes from the same place as cute puppies and slobbery baby kisses.  ~sigh~  🙂

For Valentine’s Day, let me let you in on a little secret … I love me some shadow boxes!  I look at them almost every holiday to decide which ones are the right ones.  They are so super easy to put together but still gives  that “wow” factor for your décor.  I mean, who can resist picking it up  for a little shake?  This time, it is rose petals…

valentines-day-shadow-box

 

Here’s the short and long of it…

Supplies:

  • Shadow box, any size
  • Patterned paper, cut to size
  • Silk rose petals (great dollar store find!)
  • Scissors or a paper trimmer (for trimming said patterned paper)
  • Coordinating vinyl, I used red and black from Silhouette America**
  • Silhouette cutting machine**
  • transfer tape (I used clear contact paper***)

**I created my sentiment with vinyl and my awesome Silhouette cutting machine {BUT} you could pick up any adhesive embellishment to adhere to the front of the glass at your local craft store.  I’ve seen shadow boxes decorated with glittered chipboard elements, flowers and even stickers. All it takes is a little imagination!

***I find it much easier to layer my vinyl using the clear contact paper, but have received mixed reviews on it’s effectiveness and potentially leaving behind a sticky residue.  I have not experienced any problems thus far, but be warned {LOL}.

I started by opening up my shadow box and filling it about 1/2 full with the rose petals.  I then placed my pattern paper on the back to use as a background and closed it up.  I chose a sentiment, immediately recognizing that layering the black and red would really set the design off.

shadow-box-vinyl

Once I had layered the black vinyl on top of the red, all that left to do was adhere it to the front of the glass!  I lined mine up by sight, but it’s not a bad idea to measure, either!

shadow-box-layered

See how easy that was?  Shadow boxes have so many possibilities!  It takes all my self control not to stock up on them every chance I get, but they are a favorite at my house!

valentine-shadow-box

I won’t take up any more of your romancing time today, but be sure to check back for more crafty goings-ons around here soon!  Happy Valentine’s Day!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Shadow Box

  1. Annette W February 15, 2014 at 12:42 am Reply

    Cute Valentine decoration! Thanks for linking to WWDParty!

  2. Antionette Blake February 15, 2014 at 4:27 am Reply

    This would be a perfect for a Wedding Gift – thanks for sharing and linking up with us at the #WWDParty – Happy Valentine’s Day.

  3. Nana February 16, 2014 at 6:57 pm Reply
  4. Crochet Hooks February 17, 2014 at 3:36 pm Reply

    So lovely! 🙂 This is a great idea for just about every memorable occasion. Really cool w/doing the forever in black and red, really made that stand out. Thanks for linking to Snickerdoodle!

  5. thistlewoodfarm February 17, 2014 at 10:38 pm Reply

    I agree! This would make the perfect wedding gift!

    Thanks so much for the inspiration!

    Have a wonderful and blessed day!
    karianne

    • mypapercraze February 17, 2014 at 10:52 pm Reply

      Thanks, Karianne! We love feedback from our readers! So glad you could drop in!

  6. robin lorraine williamson February 18, 2014 at 7:04 pm Reply

    Getting my craft on where can I find the shadow boxes these look like fun. Following from Create link up have a great day thanks for sharing

    • mypapercraze February 18, 2014 at 8:30 pm Reply

      Thanks for stopping by. This shadow box came from JoAnn Fabrics but I know Hobby Lobby and Michael’s also carry them. Love picking them up with a 30% or 40% off coupon. These are a lot of fun. At Christmas time we did one filled with jingle bells. Have fun!

  7. Amber February 19, 2014 at 5:19 pm Reply

    What a pretty and romantic idea! I see people have mentioned using this as a wedding gift; I think it would be so cool to put dried flowers from a wedding inside, or the petals the flower girl dropped. Love it!
    Amber @ http://www.applestoapplique.com

    • mypapercraze February 19, 2014 at 5:24 pm Reply

      Oh I love the idea of putting the dried flowers in one of these. I’ll have to remember that for the next wedding. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

  8. Dawn February 21, 2014 at 3:33 am Reply

    This is adorable! I’m going to try it out! Thanks for sharing!! 🙂 Dawn @ http://www.730moments.com

    • mypapercraze February 21, 2014 at 3:57 am Reply

      Thanks Dawn! There are endless possibilities with a shadow box. Have fun with yours!

  9. Sarah MSM February 22, 2014 at 1:54 am Reply

    This is so creative! Thanks for sharing and for linking up with us on our last Weekend Wind-Down Party (I’m late browsing due to a move!) – hope you link up again this weekend! God Bless!

  10. mypapercraze February 22, 2014 at 2:07 am Reply

    Thanks so much for taking time to comment Sarah. Sounds like you have a full plate right now. We love linking up to your party!

  11. Laurie February 23, 2014 at 11:09 pm Reply

    I loved your Tip Me Tuesday link this week. {thanks girl!} Would you like Tip Junkie to feature your blog post to over 200,000 creative women? If you upload this blog post into your Tip Junkie craft room using at least 2 images, 2 steps, and blog post URL then I can easily feature it in my RSS feed, home page, and all my social networks instantly. {squealing with delight} ~ Laurie {a.k.a. the Tip Junkie}
    http://www.tipjunkie.com/post/how-to-add-a-craft-room-project-on-tip-junkie/

    • mypapercraze February 24, 2014 at 6:14 am Reply

      Thank you Laurie! I have created my Tip Junkie craft room but haven’t had a chance to link up yet. Thanks for taking the time to stop by!

  12. betsywine February 25, 2014 at 4:25 pm Reply

    Great idea!! Looks so cute. Thanks for linking up!!
    ~ Betsy @ Romance on a dime

  13. Lee-Ann March 2, 2014 at 10:33 pm Reply

    Super cute, thanks for playing along with us at Silhouette Challenges!!

    • mypapercraze March 3, 2014 at 12:53 am Reply

      I appreciate you taking the time to comment.

  14. Car December 20, 2015 at 11:11 pm Reply

    Loving your craft! I have a silhouette too.. where can I get a cut file or the font names?

    • mypapercraze December 21, 2015 at 3:43 am Reply

      Thanks so much! Unfortunately this was a design from the Silhouette Store but after searching I’m unable to find it. I did notice a cute one that is similar #85424. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

