Introducing… The Photo Ladies!

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

Hello there and welcome back!  We sure appreciate you taking the time to check out our organized chaos week after week.  We hope to continue to bring you quality posts on topics that you, our {AMAZING} reader, enjoy reading about.  Today, we want to talk to you about photography and introduce you to a new group we are partaking in… The Photo Ladies!

I came across this group through one of my Silhouette groups and jumped right on it!  Before I get into the specifics, let me give a shout out to the Crafty Wife for hosting such an amazing group to help us photo newbies!

So what are the Photo Ladies?  Well, it’s a photo group dedicated to learning for beginning and intermediate DSLR owners.  I recently jumped into the world of DSLR cameras a few weeks ago and then screeched to a halt when I realized that I had absolutely no idea what I was doing.  When this group surfaced on my radar, I knew it was perfect for what I needed.  It’s not a boring tutorial on the in’s-and-out’s of photography, but rather a learn-as-you-go.

If this sounds like anything you are interested in, I strongly recommend that you check out the great information the Crafty Wife has put together:

The Photo Ladies Intro

Photography Challenge #1: Aperture

So each month we have an assignment to help us learn how to use our beautiful cameras.  The assignments are due on the 15th of each month, so be sure to check back each month to see our progress — and maybe learn a little something yourself!  Now I know what you are thinking… “Geez Becky, this is already the 21st of March”.  Yeah, I know… I’m a little late.  I say better late than never, so I’m proceeding with the assignment to catch me up to date.

Our assignment this month was learning {APERTURE}.  Jump on over to the Crafty Wife‘s post for the full rundown on what we learned and what the assignment entailed.

Learning Aperture: Assignment 1.1

collage2

So why do I have random photos of baby shoes on my blog today?  These are my assignment photos!  As you can see, I used varying aperture settings to determine the field of depth for my photos.  As you can also see, the first photo is way over exposed when using my lowest f-stop.  Why?  Because I can’t read directions, evidently.

So what did I really learn?  This is what Aperture Priority Mode is for {LOL}.  Aperture Priority Mode allows the photographer to manually adjust the f-stop while the camera adjusts the shutter speed.  So looking at my white-out photo, you can see that I chose a low f-stop (1.8) and did not adjust my shutter speed to limit the amount of light, resulting in the over exposure.

So skipping over my boo-boo, compare photos two and three.  Although I still wasn’t using the Aperture Priority Mode, you can still see the differences in the depth of field when photographing the same image on different f-stop settings.  And {TADA}… blurry backgrounds!  Aren’t they beautiful?  I love, love, love my blurry backgrounds.

So now that I’m done being a slacker and have posted my assignment, I realize that I need to go back and re-learn using the aperture settings on my camera.  But, since I managed to figure out the blunder to my white-out, I thought I should post it to help anyone else who might have overlooked the same issue.  Afterall, we’re all learning together, right?

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Introducing… The Photo Ladies!

  1. Teresa @ Crafty Wife.com March 22, 2014 at 4:30 pm Reply

    haha I love that you posted your blunder! I didn’t read the direction either, which resulted in me taking two photos (the low and high f/stops) instead of three. Oops! I think the middle and high f/stop photos are great, and the blur in the second one is fantastic. I’d be really interested to see what your blur looks like with you f/1.8 lens! Great job! Can’t wait to see your next assignment photos!

    • mypapercraze March 22, 2014 at 8:11 pm Reply

      Thanks Teresa! I figured if I missed that part of the directions, someone else might, too. I took the same photo about 10 times before I realized something was wrong, lol. Looking forward to next week’s assignment, too! Thanks again for hosting this group/challenge!

  2. […] date for my photography challenge assignment!  Missed that post?  {NO PROBLEM}… check out Introducing… The Photo Ladies!  Not only do we have a nice little intro, but you can follow the links to catch up on the first […]

  3. […] Introducing… The Photo Ladies! […]

Leave a Reply

