It’s Kind of a Big Deal… A Liebster Award Nomination!

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

Hello friends!  Welcome back to our wonderful little blog, I have something super amazing to share with you!  We have been nominated for a Liebster Award!  How exciting!  We’d sincerely like to thank Jen at Driftwood Gardens for the lovely nomination!  Be sure to check her out as she is also a Liebster Award nominee and has a ton of great crafty inspiration to offer!

liebsterblogaward

The Liebster Award is for small up-and-coming blogs.  The most honoring part for me is that it is given by other bloggers {AND} that I now get to share it with other small bloggers like myself!  Here are the rules of the Liebster Award:

liebsterawardrules

My Eleven Questions… and Answers!

So here are the questions so kindly asked of me by Jen at Driftwood Gardens:

What is your blogging niche?

To be perfectly honest, I’m not convinced that we have discovered a niche.  We love crafts of all kinds, starting with paper and expanding to anything and everything that we can get our hands on.  I’d almost say our niche is {REAL LIFE} crafts, as in I like to blog about practical projects that I have enjoyed and that I can use in my day-to-day life.

What is the best thing about blogging?

I love sharing.  Before blogging, I was always eager to share any and all of my projects with anyone who was willing to listen.  Instead of showing off photos of my kids, it was photos of my crafts.  Blogging gives me the perfect outlet to share my projects and ideas with others AND network with others who enjoy doing the same.  It’s a form of therapy, LOL.

What is the worst thing about blogging?

Finding the time to blog is a continuous challenge.  I found this love at a rather inconvenient time in my life.  I spent the first decade of my adult life doing a whole lot of nothing and started my family at the age of 28.  My daughter was only a few weeks old when I fell into my love of crafting and creating, the same time in my life when I now have so many other obligations.  But such is life, a continuous juggling act.  And my wonderful readers don’t seem to mind my organized chaos.

Who is your favorite TV chef?

Unfortunately, I don’t watch any cooking shows on TV.  Since my culinary skills include burnt toast, it seems like a useless effort, LOL.  I do enjoy finding new recipes to try out on my unsuspecting children, but my husband is definitely the chef in our family.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Oh, so many to choose from!  I would say rolls.  Not the answer you were expecting, lol?  Even my husband has learned that I love rolls.  Brown-N-Serve rolls with butter.  Rolls with cinnamon butter.  Rolls with honey butter.  I just love them for some reason.  My favorite?  Sweet Hawaiian rolls.  They even come in sandwich buns… yum.

Name someone you admire and why you admire them.

I admire stay-at-home parents.  For the first 27 years of my life, I used to think stay-at-home moms had the easy “job”.  I mean who doesn’t want to stay at home all day and watch soap operas and eat ding-dongs, right?  I’ve never been a stay-at-home mom, but I think if I spent all day taking care of everyone else, you would find the kids duck-taped to a tree outside — for their own protection.

Favorite book ever?

I have to jump on the bandwagon here and say the Twilight series.  NOT because it was the best story ever or I live in some fantasy about vampires and werewolves.  Rather, it’s my favorite book because it was my first book and it opened up the world of romance novels and sparked my love for reading.  And… I’m totally Team Jacob, LOL.

Favorite movie of all time?

I’m not sure that I have a favorite movie of all time, I prefer to organize them by genre.  Animated?  Shrek.  It was one of the first kids movies that taught more than princess meets prince.  It was also hilarious for both children and adults.  Also a huge fan of the recently released Lego Movie.  Suspense?  Primal Fear.  The Shawshank Redemption.  Comedy?  Dogma.  Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back.  Who doesn’t love a good Kevin Smith movie and some stupid funny laughs?  Romance?  The Notebook is an obvious answer, lol.  Also really enjoyed Pride and Prejudice.  Side note:  I am also a huge fan of Robert Downy Jr.  Yum.

Best song of all time?

“Con Te Partirò” (Time to Say Goodbye) by Andrea Bocelli & Sarah Brightman.  I had heard it a few times in passing, then fell in love with it while visiting Las Vegas for my wedding and honeymoon.  I was fortunate enough to stay at the Bellagio and have a room overlooking the fountains where they coordinated a water show to this song.  I still don’t know what they are singing about, but the melody is beautiful enough to bring me to tears.

What is your favorite social media?

I’m still a Facebook junkie.  I know there are tons of social media platforms that offer a wide range of benefits and interactions, but I guess I’m just stuck in the old school of what I know.  Oddly enough, my mom handles the rest for our blog.

Will you still be blogging in ten years?

Absolutely.  My themes may change over the years, but I can’t see that I would ever give up blogging.

Eleven Random Facts about ME

  1. Orange is my favorite color, but having a little baby girl puts a heavy pink hue on my life.
  2. I am a zombie junkie!  I love me some Walking Dead and will watch any zombie movie available.
  3. I am also a secret history buff.  Not that I know that much about it, but I enjoy learning.
  4. I think one of man’s worst creations is styrofoam.  And saran wrap.  They make the most horrible sounds.
  5. I love slobbery baby kisses — the wetter the better, lol.
  6. I earned a degree in Business Management.  My studies made me realize how much I never want to manage a business, lol.
  7. I am an Internal Auditor by day and feel like crafting is my secret identity.  My version of Clark Kent and Superman.
  8. My favorite number is 37, because that was my school bus number in elementary school.
  9. My husband and I eloped to Las Vegas to get married (I secretly planned everything from the ceremony to the photographer) and sent announcements that were postmarked with the location and date.
  10. My husband and I dated less than three months before we got married.  Still the best decision of my life.
  11. I am a die-hard Saints fan.  I didn’t care about football until I went to my first professional game in New Orleans.  Can you say WHO DAT!  I cut myself with my craft knife the other day… and yeah, I bleed black and gold.  Coincidentally, those were also my high school colors.

My {AMAZING} Liebster Award Nominee Blogs

Part of the fun of the Liebster Award is getting to nominate amazing blogs that you feel are deserving of a Liebster Award.  This is great for getting to know new bloggers AND for helping each other find readers!  Unfortunately, I did have to guess at the number of followers, so please don’t be offended if your following is larger than 200.  Without further delay, here are my amazing nominees (in no particular order):

  1. Kristy GD @ Please Excuse My Craftermath
  2. Michelle @ Weekend Craft
  3. Tanya @ Tanya’s Creative Space
  4. Joyce @ Peace, Love & Joyce
  5. Dawn Marie @ Mama Sonshine
  6. Tiffany @ The Outlandish Momma
  7. Sarah @ Creative Carnival
  8. Pam @ Get Silvered
  9. Janice @ Nearly Handmade
  10. Lisa, Rona and Grace @ Teach Love Craft
  11. Rachel @ Love Your DLSR

Eleven Questions for my Eleven Blogs

Now let’s get to know a little more about these amazing bloggers!

  1. Why did you decide to start a blog?
  2. Is blogging your obsession or your hobby?
  3. What is your greatest source of inspiration for your blog?
  4. Do you plan your posts in advance or are you a spur-of-the-moment blogger?
  5. If you could choose a blog-idol, who would it be?
  6. What do you consider your biggest success so far as a blogger?
  7. What has been your biggest obstacle?
  8. Is there anything you would change about your journey into blogging?
  9. Do you have any insight to share with those contemplating starting a blog?
  10. What is your favorite activity (or non-activity) to relax?
  11. What do you envision for your blog in 10 years?

Bloggers… Go!  Readers… be sure to stop by my nominees and show them some bloggy-love!  Another round of thanks to Jen at Driftwood Gardens, be sure to check her out, too!

Tagged: , , ,

17 thoughts on “It’s Kind of a Big Deal… A Liebster Award Nomination!

  1. Raven March 23, 2014 at 2:22 pm Reply

    Congrats!

    • mypapercraze March 23, 2014 at 5:37 pm Reply

      Thanks Raven! We’re having a lot of fun with it.

  2. Jen @ Driftwood Gardens March 23, 2014 at 3:34 pm Reply

    I love love love your answers! We have some stuff in common too (esp. the RDJ thing). I can’t wait to visit all your nominees!

    • mypapercraze March 23, 2014 at 5:39 pm Reply

      Jen, we are having so much fun with this. Thanks again. It feels good giving positive feedback to small blogs who are working their butts off trying to make it.

  3. Michelle Beaton March 23, 2014 at 11:07 pm Reply

    Congrats! Glenna you are too much! Thank you for nominating Weekend Craft!!! This is the first time we have ever been nominated for anything! I can’t wait to pay it forward and nominate some other blogs I love!

    • mypapercraze March 24, 2014 at 4:04 am Reply

      Thanks Michelle. We’ve never been nominated for anything before either. This is so much fun seeing all the responses and getting to know everyone a little better. Have fun with it!
      Glenna

  4. Lauren @ The Thinking Closet March 24, 2014 at 12:35 am Reply

    Congrats on your Liebster award, gals! And so sweet of you to nominate so many S.C. buddies in return!

    • mypapercraze March 24, 2014 at 4:00 am Reply

      Thanks Lauren. And thanks so much for the much needed advice. It’s exciting waiting to see the responses and getting to know some of the group better.

  5. Pam - GetSilvered March 24, 2014 at 1:11 am Reply

    Hi Glenna & Becky,
    Congratulations on your award and thanks so much for nominating me too 🙂 Loved reading all about you and getting to know more about you.
    Now I’m off to put my thinking cap on for some questions and answers and nominations of my own!
    Cheers
    Pam

    • mypapercraze March 24, 2014 at 3:56 am Reply

      Thanks Pam! This has been so much fun. I think it’s great using this to get to know some people in our silhouette group better but that is not the case with nominating you. I was downloading your cut files long before I ever found this group. I love your blog and appreciate your generosity. I’m looking forward to reading your answers too.
      Have fun
      Glenna

  6. angelarae34 March 24, 2014 at 10:00 am Reply

    Congrats….and I really love the fact that your favorite number is your elementary school bus number 🙂

    • mypapercraze March 24, 2014 at 1:19 pm Reply

      Thanks! It’s surprising all the little things we don’t know about people. Even the ones closest to us.

  7. peaceloveandjoyce March 24, 2014 at 11:45 pm Reply

    Oh my gosh Glenna, I visited your post so I could leave a comment to say Congratulations on your nomination for this award!!! I had no idea until I read your post that you had nominated ME for a Liebster Award!!! I’m honored. Thank you so very, very much for nominating Peace, Love and Joyce!

    I had a lot of fun reading all your answers! Now I need to think of questions to propose to other bloggers. My biggest problem is that you’ve already nominated some of the ones that I would have nominated. I wonder if the rules allow a blog to be nominated by more than one person?

    Peace, Love and Joy,
    Joyce

    • mypapercraze March 25, 2014 at 6:04 pm Reply

      Joyce, we were so very glad to nominate you, we love checking out your blog! It was sssoooo hard to find blogs to nominate, so we feel your pain, lol! But yes, we did find out that a blog CAN be nominated more than once, so don’t let that hold you back! The Liebster Award is all about sharing the love, so share away, Joyce!

  8. Helen G. March 26, 2014 at 2:48 am Reply

    Congratulations!!!! This is so awesome!

    • mypapercraze March 27, 2014 at 3:44 am Reply

      Thanks! We’ve had a lot of fun with it.

  9. […] It’s Kind of a Big Deal… A Liebster Award Nomination! […]

Leave a Reply

