Five Kid Tested Egg Decorating Techniques… Pass or Fail?

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

Every holiday, we try to make time to do a special craft with the kids.  They love it, we live through it, and we all build great memories together.  Right?  Well, technically.  See… I really do love crafting with my kids.  I used to look forward to when they would get old enough to be calm and patient and create beautiful masterpieces alongside of me.  Well, evidently we are not there yet!  So to save you some pain and headache before Easter, here are Five Kid Tested Egg Decorating Techniques… Pass or Fail?

Five Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper Craze

We gathered up some supplies that we had laying around the house thinking, “It can’t be that hard, they look so {EASY} online…  and technically they are.  It’s all about capturing the attention of your younger audience.  Here are the five techniques we tried:

  • Creating rubber band lines
  • Traditional egg dying
  • Decorating with tattoos
  • Decorating with glue and glitter
  • Cool Whip dye

So out of the five techniques above, which ones do you vote for to be kid approved?  Let’s find out!

Five Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper Craze

Traditional egg dying was, surprisingly, a {FAIL}.  We chose to decorate artificial eggs this year, as the kids were sssoooo disappointed that we weren’t going to hide their hard-boiled eggs last year {I sure didn’t want to smell the lost eggs a year later!}.  Unfortunately, artificial eggs, as great as they may sound, don’t hold traditional dye as well.  The information on the package simply states that dying will result in pastel colors… but they mean VERY pastel.  {AND} THEY FLOAT.  I know, I should have seen this coming, but really?  How do you die floating eggs?  The kids were tired of holding them down with spoons, so we fetched glasses out of the cabinet and placed them on top.  Needless to say, after about thirty seconds, the kids were ready to move on to something else.  Dying these eggs were the equivalent of watching the grass grow.  Snooze.

Five Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper Craze

Another method we have seen is using rubber bands around the eggs to create lines when dyed.  Now, this may have turned out better had the dye not been an extremely light shade of pastel.  Unfortunately, with pastel egg dye, this turned into another {FAIL}.

Five Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper Craze

Glitter + Glue + Kids = {FAIL}.  Again, this is another great concept if you have older children.  As it turned out, we had glitter and glue all over the table, all over us, and basically everywhere except for the eggs.  We also tried to add some glitter to a bag, drop the egg in and shake it.  The glue on the egg stuck to the side of the bag and resulted in a glitter clump.  {Sigh} The kids might have had a little fun, but our constant “stop” “don’t do that” “give it here” weren’t exactly the ideal feedback.  We ended this lesson and moved on.

Five Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper Craze

Kids love tattoos.  I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone who didn’t love temporary tattoos as a child.  In theory, this is another method that COULD work.  If your kids never touched the eggs again.  Well, that might be exaggerating a little, but the tattoos do rub right off the eggs.  And because the kids love them so much, they just can’t seem to put them down, resulting in little tiny balls of tattoo paper on the table and blank white eggs.  Back to square one.

Five Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper Craze

Finally!  We found one that is 100% kid tested and APPROVED!  This was a big hit for one main reason… can you guess why?

Five Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper CrazeThey were obsessed with eating the Cool Whip, {LOL}.  We finally gave in, AFTER we decorated a few eggs.  So what’s the secret to using Cool Whip to dye your Easter eggs?

  1. Grab a plate and spread a layer of Cool Whip
  2. Using GEL food coloring, mix in each color in a small area (we used tooth picks)
    Five Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper CrazeFive Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper Craze
  3. Once you have several colors (or just one, if you prefer), intertwine your colors togetherFive Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper Craze
  4. DO NOT MIX YOUR COOL WHIP – it will blend the colors into oneFive Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper Craze
  5. ROLL your egg {DO NOT SLIDE OR SCOOT} – we used a spoonFive Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper CrazeFive Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper Craze
  6. Here is your finished product.  You can dab off the excess Cool Whip with a paper towelFive Kid Tested Egg DIY Decorating Techniques by My Paper Craze

So what’s on your agenda for egg decorating?  Do you have any tips to share on tried-and-true decorating methods?  I’d like to say all of this experimenting was a lot of fun, but I truly think next year we are going with the store-bought kits that have stickers and all.  {GASP}  I know.  But after all this “excitement”, I just needed a nap {LOL}!

 

Tagged: , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Five Kid Tested Egg Decorating Techniques… Pass or Fail?

  1. Joy @ Yesterfood April 9, 2014 at 12:19 pm Reply

    This is great! Thank you for testing all of these so I don’t have to! 😉 I have never heard of the cool whip method, so this will be fun to try.

    I would love for you to share this at my party, Treasure Box Tuesday, going on right now! We loooove recipes and crafts, and this is both!! 😀

    New follower on twitter, google+ and I have stumbled this post!

    • mypapercraze April 10, 2014 at 6:24 pm Reply

      Thanks, Joy! We ran into the cool whip searching for ideas and it seem sooo cool! We’ll hop on over and check out your party! Sounds pretty awesome! Will check you out on our social media, too!

  2. Renee @ CreativeMamaMessyHouse April 9, 2014 at 5:43 pm Reply

    This year will be the first year decorating eggs with my two-year old. Needless to say, we will be decorating our eggs outdoors!

    • mypapercraze April 10, 2014 at 6:03 pm Reply

      No kidding, Renee! I’m sure you will have so much fun! Come back and let us know how it turned out!

  3. jkwdesigns April 10, 2014 at 6:42 am Reply

    Love this idea! I’ve been pinning things like a crazy person looking for fun ways for my preschoolers to decorate eggs. They would love this!

    • mypapercraze April 10, 2014 at 6:01 pm Reply

      It really was a lot of fun and I’m sure any preschool age kid will get a kick out of the colored cool whip! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Carmody April 15, 2014 at 10:24 am Reply

    The cool whip eggs look like a lot fun.

Leave a Reply

