Customize Your Dollar Store Candles

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

All of the Valentine’s Day decorations have been taken down and put away…  everything is in it’s place and back to normal…  no more red… no more pink…  it’s just {BLAH}.  BUT… part of me is also relieved to be moving on to more economical crafts for St. Patrick’s Day, YAY!  So I ran over to the dollar store to stock up on some cheapie supplies and inspiration struck!  All I needed was a few candles and some napkins…  to create custom candles!

14

Here are the few supplies you need to complete this project.

collage

  • Napkins
  • Candles
  • Scissors
  • Blow dryer

First, grab your napkins.  Usually the are 2 ply so the layers will need to be seperated.  I found it easier to tear one of the corners to get it started, then simply pulled them apart.

I then cut the napkins into rectangular strips sized to fit my candle.  I just used my best judgment, but if you want a more exact fit you could measure your candle on this step.  Once you’re happy with your strips, you’re ready to put them on the candle and get to the fun part.  Place your napkin strip around your candle and hold it in place with one hand.  Using a regular blow dryer, start blowing the heated air onto your napkin and your strip will actually melt into the candle.  You will be able to see the difference by looking for the napkin to start to get a shiny gloss to it.  Be careful not to burn your hand and try to keep the heat moving so that you don’t melt the candle to the point that it runs.

Once you’ve gone over the whole napkin strip and created an even shine, let it cool for a minute or two for the wax to re-harden. Ta-da!  You now have a unique candle to match whatever theme you choose without spending an arm and leg.  I do want to point out that the napkin strip is flammable and I would be hesitant about actually burning this candle.

13

What holiday or celebration do you have coming up that you’d like to customize a candle for?  How about Spongebob or Dora on a candle added to your party display?  You can apply this concept to any napkin design you can find!

Thanks for stopping by again today, we hope you enjoyed our fun little project!  See you soon!

Tagged: , , , ,

34 thoughts on “Customize Your Dollar Store Candles

  1. Corey @ tinysidekick February 25, 2014 at 2:59 pm Reply

    What a great idea! So festive and inexpensive. Thank you for sharing at The Makers!

  2. mypapercraze February 25, 2014 at 3:01 pm Reply

    Thanks Corey. Love your linky party!

  3. onetipsychick February 26, 2014 at 6:06 am Reply

    What a great idea. Pinning!!!

  4. Kate February 26, 2014 at 6:34 am Reply

    What cute, easy idea!

  5. Ana Love Craft February 26, 2014 at 2:31 pm Reply

    Lovely project! Thanks for sharing!
    Have a fabulous week!
    Hugs from Portugal,

    Ana Love Craft
    http://www.lovecraft2012.blogspot.com

    • mypapercraze February 28, 2014 at 4:38 am Reply

      Thanks Ana! I love being able to make inexpensive decorations.

  6. Alexis Middleton February 27, 2014 at 6:52 am Reply

    Wow! Those turned out great! I would have never guessed you used napkins. Thanks so much for linking up at The Makers! 🙂

    • mypapercraze February 27, 2014 at 2:21 pm Reply

      Thanks Alexis. And thanks for taking the time to comment.

  7. Jeanette February 28, 2014 at 4:20 am Reply

    Oh my word! What a great idea! I’ve made lots of crafts with napkins, but never thought of adhering them with heat to a candle! I’m pinning this one!

    • mypapercraze February 28, 2014 at 4:35 am Reply

      Thanks Jeanette! I love being able to make decorations that don’t break the bank. Thanks for pinning!

  8. Darlene Nemeth (@DarleneBNemeth) February 28, 2014 at 4:44 am Reply

    I already pinned. Just wanted to let you know how fantastic your project is. 🙂

    • mypapercraze February 28, 2014 at 4:47 am Reply

      Thanks Darlene. I love inexpensive decorations. I appreciate you pinning.

  9. Antionette Blake March 2, 2014 at 2:41 am Reply

    This is a great St. Patrick’s Day Candle DIY – thanks for sharing and linking up with us again at the #WWDParty.

    • mypapercraze March 2, 2014 at 4:19 am Reply

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. Love your party!

  10. Gail@Purple Hues and Me March 2, 2014 at 12:23 pm Reply

    I love this idea! I saw something similar a few years ago where the crafter used a travel iron to attach the napkin. Don’t know which application is best but the end result looks awesome. I do need to try this! So pretty!

  11. Angela (Life in Velvet) March 2, 2014 at 10:22 pm Reply

    Great idea! I love the bright green! Thanks so much for linking up at Thursday STYLE 🙂

    • mypapercraze March 3, 2014 at 12:55 am Reply

      Thanks Angela. We love your party.

  12. navywifeypeters March 3, 2014 at 4:59 am Reply

    Wow! What a clever idea!!!

    Navy Wifey Peters @ Submarine Sunday Link Party

    • mypapercraze March 4, 2014 at 3:44 am Reply

      Thanks! I love inexpensive decorations.

  13. Melissa - aprudentlife.com March 4, 2014 at 3:12 am Reply

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one that uses napkins differently than attended! I cut up a Minnesota Vikings napkin to use on a onesie for some newborn baby pictures. It worked great! I hadn’t thought about using them for candles though – very cute! Thanks for linking up at Thursday STYLE.

    • mypapercraze March 4, 2014 at 3:43 am Reply

      Wow! I’ll have to come by and check out your onesie. Sounds awesome. Thanks for commenting.

  14. […] Spy Party Lip and Body Scrub Vegan Banana Bread Full Year 2014 Calendar Printable Meal Planners Customize Dollar Store Candles An InLinkz […]

  15. […] Customize Dollar Store Candles by My Paper Craze […]

  16. […] Customize Your Dollar Store Candles from My Paper Craze […]

  17. Kristina March 8, 2014 at 4:14 am Reply

    Oh wow! You did that with Napkins?! That is so smart! I love it! I want a dozen and at $1 a pop I could have them too. Would make a great centerpiece! Thanks for linking it up to Snickerdoodle Sunday!

    • mypapercraze March 8, 2014 at 6:37 am Reply

      Thanks Kristina! This is right up my alley…quick, easy, cheap. lol

  18. […] Kristina’s Fav: My Paper Craze’s Customize your Dollar Store Candles […]

  19. lindab142 March 9, 2014 at 8:32 pm Reply

    I really like the green – it’s a great idea to add it to candles.

    • mypapercraze March 9, 2014 at 9:13 pm Reply

      Thanks Linda. Easy way to bright things up a bit…I’m soooo ready for spring!

  20. Connie March 14, 2014 at 9:02 pm Reply

    I made one of these today and it was easy and is so cute! Thank you so much!

    • mypapercraze March 14, 2014 at 9:12 pm Reply

      Wow! That makes my day. I’m so glad you tried it!

  21. […] Customize Your Dollar Store Candles […]

  22. […] Customize Dollar Store Candles by My Paper Craze […]

  23. […] Customize Dollar Store Candles submitted by My Paper Craze […]

Leave a comment