The Photo Ladies: Shutter Speed Challenge!

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

Good Afternoon and Happy Monday!  If you’ve been keeping up with our varying posts, you may remember that the last day of the month is not only one month closer to Christmas {hehe} but the due date for my photography challenge assignment!  Missed that post?  {NO PROBLEM}… check out Introducing… The Photo Ladies!  Not only do we have a nice little intro, but you can follow the links to catch up on the first challenge… Aperture!

If you just want the quick version, I am participating in a bi-monthly challenge group to learn the ins-and-outs of my DSLR camera settings by joining the Crafty Wife and her wonderful group in following the study lessons of No Bad Foto.

Once you have that under wraps, let’s move on to today’s post… The Photo Ladies: Shutter Speed Challenge!

The Photo Ladies - a monthly photography challenge

So what is Shutter Speed?  If you remember, it’s one of the three main components to the exposure of your photo (Aperture, Shutter Speed and ISO).  Shutter Speed, more specifically, controls how movement is captured.  Using a slower shutter speed allows you to show objects in motion with a slight blur to the image.  A faster shutter speed causes a “freeze frame” effect with your subject in sharp focus.  Both have their benefits, obviously.

Here is an example of two shutter speeds:

DSLR shutter speed photography challenge by My Paper Craze

When you look at the photo on the left, can you see where the movement of the water is represented by a slight blurring?  Then look at the right-side, the water appears to be at a stand-still. Can you also see the differences in the lightness of the image?  A slower shutter speed also allows more light because the shutter is open for a longer period of time.  Here is a closer image:

DSLR shutter speed photography challenge by My Paper Craze

In the close-up, you can actually see a few drops of water that appear to be suspended in motion.  Let’s look at one more…

DSLR shutter speed photography challenge by My Paper Craze
Overall, the subject of Shutter Speed isn’t nearly as complicated as I expected.  Can you think of some situations where you would need a slower shutter speed?  What about a faster shutter speed?

Are you starting to see the full triangle-effect of the three components of your photo exposure?  In dark environments, how will your shutter speed effect your photo?  Just some thoughts to ponder when choosing your future camera settings.

This topic was especially useful for me with the beginning of baseball season… bring on the fast action sports photos!  They won’t elude me this year now that I am a master of the shutter speed!  Bring ’em on!

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “The Photo Ladies: Shutter Speed Challenge!

  1. Robin @ Redo It Yourself Inspirations March 31, 2014 at 9:56 pm Reply

    Between my eyes going bad and not knowing about shutter speed, just a still life photo is a challenge for me. 🙂

    Thank you for helping me out with this, I truly needed it and will try it.

    • mypapercraze April 1, 2014 at 2:16 am Reply

      Awww, Robin, you are too sweet! I was checking out your linky party, I’ll have to hop on over and join in the fun! Looks like you have a lot of great projects! See you soon!

  2. Robin @ Redo It Yourself Inspirations March 31, 2014 at 10:01 pm Reply

    PS: I pinned this because my memory is going along with my eyes 😉

  3. Teresa @ Crafty Wife.com March 31, 2014 at 10:33 pm Reply

    Love your photos! I can’t wait to go outside and actually take some of running water (I’m going into DC this weekend so it’s on my to-do list!). Great great job and I’m so happy you’re a part of the group. 🙂

    • mypapercraze April 1, 2014 at 2:09 am Reply

      Awww, thanks for stopping by and paying me a compliment! And thank you for hosting such an awesome challenge! Got my fingers crossed for some good photo opportunities for you this weekend!

  4. pictureperfectcooking March 31, 2014 at 11:41 pm Reply

    Love your shots! We are finally seeing a few signs of Spring here in Central KY. Thanks so much for visiting and commenting over at my site.

    • mypapercraze April 1, 2014 at 2:12 am Reply

      Thanks for stopping by! We’re in sunny Florida, but still having a little chill here, too! Here’s for hoping for warmer weather all the way around! Thanks, again!

  5. Accidentally Wonderful April 2, 2014 at 4:52 pm Reply

    Great Tutorial! Thanks for linking up to Accidentally Wonderful Wednesday!
    http://accidentallywonderful.blogspot.com/

    • mypapercraze April 3, 2014 at 12:54 pm Reply

      Thanks for taking the time to check us out! See you next Wednesday!

  6. SexyBagsNShoes (@SexyBagsNShoes) April 6, 2014 at 12:16 pm Reply

    I need this in my life! I just recently got a DSLR…and a remote which is a bad combination when you don’t know what you’re doing 🙂 looking forward to learning some things.

    • mypapercraze April 6, 2014 at 6:26 pm Reply

      Glad you could check us out! It’s not to late to join in the challenge, it really is a lot of fun! Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Angela (Life in Velvet) April 6, 2014 at 12:52 pm Reply

    This is a great tutorial! I love that you included the settings along with the photo comparisons! Your aperture tips were especially helpful! Thanks so much for linking up at Thursday STYLE 🙂

    • mypapercraze April 6, 2014 at 6:29 pm Reply

      Thanks, Angela! So glad you stopped by for a visit! We’re really loving this photo challenge!

Leave a comment