DIY Tutu Easter Basket + Pinspiration Friday

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

Hello there and welcome back to another Pinspiration Friday!  As we inch closer to Easter, we’re loving all these awesome Easter crafts we’re finding and can’t wait to share the fun with you!  Last week we visited our {PEEPS} with our cute Hanging With My Peeps T-shirt.  This week, we’ll make a matching accessory… a DIY TUTU EASTER BASKET!  Whoo-hoo!

DIY Tutu Easter Basket by My Paper Craze

As you might have guessed, we love tutus and they are so easy to make!  This Easter basket makes for an extra special accessory to give to your little hunny-bunny on Easter… a wearable tutu!

Start off by grabbing some supplies at your local craft store.  We like Hobby Lobby, they had an amazing sale for us to pick up this adorable polka-dot basket and dress it up with our tulle.  Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 basket – you can choose on from the Easter aisle or re-purpose one from home
  • 2 rolls of color coordinated tulle – depending on your basket and how full you want your tutu
  • Ribbon, elastic band or elastic headband spool

DIY Tutu Easter Basket by My Paper Craze

After you grab your supplies, do you remember how to make a quick and easy tutu?  Jump on over to our tutu post Pretty In Pink.  We had a great time making tutus for Breast Cancer Awareness month back in October!  This post has the link for a full video tutorial from Just Add A Bow that makes it so easy to follow along.  We love our tutorials, but for this piece, a video is the safest bet.  We’ll wait while you give it a glimpse…

Got the hang of it?  So what you’ll do is grab your elastic or ribbon and measure around the TOP of your basket.  I would recommend a wooden basket over plastic, only because the elastic tends to slide off plastic surfaces.  Give it a try and see what works best for you.  Once you’ve measured and cut your desired length, go ahead and loop it around your thigh like we saw in the video.  This really is the best method from my experience.

One difference for my tutus is that I do not bunch two strips of tullle at a time.  I knew I would be doing two layers for this tutu, so I only threaded one strip of tulle through each loop, all the way around.  Once finished, I started on the second layer.  After all your layers are done (in my case, two was enough), it’s time to slip your tutu on the basket.

DIY Tutu Easter Basket by My Paper Craze

I chose to flip my basket over rather than stretch it around the top.  In truth, you can do it however is easiest for you.  Once you have it around, go ahead and flip your basket right-side up, if applicable, and pull the edge of your tutu up to the top.

DIY Tutu Easter Basket by My Paper Craze

Since I purchased a regular storage-type basket, it did not include a handle.  Don’t despair, you can just add a handle using your existing materials.  I chose to weave my tulle through the holes in my elastic headband material.  I think it turned out rather cute.  If you do have a handle attached to your basket, feel free to wrap some tulle around it to dress it up a little.

DIY Tutu Easter Basket by My Paper Craze

One of the important things about this craft, in my opinion, is to make sure that your tutu is detachable for your little princess to wear.  I don’t know about you, but I buy a NEW Easter basket each year for my daughter, so it seems that I have a ton of them laying around!  Re-dress some of those older baskets and give them a face-life with a little tulle and a whole lot of {LOVE}!

DSC_0358

As promised, we have a whole Pinterest board dedicated to Easter crafts, including more Tutu Easter Baskets!  Check out our {Easter Crafts} board for more {PINSPIRATION} than you can stand!  Put your crafty self to work, then come back and share your projects with us!  We’d sure love to hear from you!

If you enjoyed this post, check out these other similar projects:

DIY Easter Peeps Shirt + Pinspiration Friday with My Paper Craze Batman or Batgirl themed Halloween Costume with matching tutu and heat transfer iron on by My Paper Craze

 

Tagged: , , ,

21 thoughts on “DIY Tutu Easter Basket + Pinspiration Friday

  1. The Happy Creations April 5, 2014 at 4:43 pm Reply

    Very nice Easter basket,thanks for posting:)

    • mypapercraze April 6, 2014 at 6:24 pm Reply

      Thank you! We were happy with it! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. stickelberry April 7, 2014 at 4:21 pm Reply

    Tutu Cute! :o)

    • mypapercraze April 7, 2014 at 7:13 pm Reply

      Thanks! I had a great time making it and I’m sure my little one will love dancing around in the tutu on Easter!

  3. Renee @ CreativeMamaMessyHouse April 7, 2014 at 8:33 pm Reply

    This is adorable! My daughter is now 12 and declares that she is a tomboy-gamer, but a long, long time ago she would have loved something like this 🙂

    • mypapercraze April 8, 2014 at 5:41 am Reply

      Thanks Renee! I remember my daughter going through that but now I get a second chance with my granddaughter.

  4. thedomesticgeek April 8, 2014 at 4:18 pm Reply

    That is such an adorable idea! I’m sure my daughter would love if her Easter basket had a tutu!

    • mypapercraze April 8, 2014 at 4:51 pm Reply

      Thanks! My daughter won’t be quite old enough to appreciate it, but I’ll be sure to tuck it away for future use! Glad you enjoyed it!

  5. Kristina and Millie April 8, 2014 at 11:16 pm Reply

    What a cute idea! It really jazzes it up! Thanks for linking it up to Snickerdoodle Sunday.

    • mypapercraze April 9, 2014 at 4:16 am Reply

      Thanks Kristina & Millie! I’m lucky to have a daughter to make all these sweet things for.

  6. Ashley @ 3 Little Greenwoods April 9, 2014 at 11:10 am Reply

    Adorable Easter Basket! I love that a little girl can detach the tut and wear it. My Tootsie and niece would LOVE this! Pinned!

    Thanks so much for sharing with us at Show-Licious Craft & Recipe Party! Hope you will join us again Saturday morning!

    ~ Ashley

    • mypapercraze April 10, 2014 at 6:25 pm Reply

      Thanks, Ashley! We sure will see you on Saturday! Glad you could check us out!

  7. DearCreatives (@DearCreatives) April 9, 2014 at 9:16 pm Reply

    Adorable! Dropping in from @DearCreatives I know a little girl who’d love one. Drop by and share your ideas on my Fri/Sat parties sometime. Theresa

    • mypapercraze April 10, 2014 at 6:02 pm Reply

      Thanks Theresa! We’ll be sure to stop by tomorrow or Saturday!

  8. creativekkids April 10, 2014 at 7:32 pm Reply

    This so cute. My youngest daughter would love this–but we won’t show her! Thanks for linking up with the Bloggers Brags Pinterest Party. I have pinned your post to the Bloggers Brags Pinterest Board!

    • mypapercraze April 10, 2014 at 8:07 pm Reply

      Great! Thanks so much for stopping by! It was a really fun project!

  9. betsywine April 14, 2014 at 10:17 pm Reply

    Love this idea!! Super cute!! Thanks for linking up at Take it on Tuesday!
    ~ Betsy @ Romance on a dime

  10. sohosonnet April 16, 2014 at 6:00 am Reply

    SOOOOO cute! Great idea! I am including it in my Best Of Easter Crafts from Link It or Lump it Party. Thanks for linking up (and for cohosting previously 🙂

    • mypapercraze April 16, 2014 at 5:21 pm Reply

      Thank you! So glad you liked our little project! We’ll see you at the next linky party!

  11. Jennifer Dawn April 16, 2014 at 1:58 pm Reply

    This is just darling! Such a creative idea! I’m featuring it at this week’s link party.

  12. […] My Paper Craze – DIY Tutu Easter Basket  […]

Leave a comment