DIY Sweetheart Glass Block Tutorial {with FREE CUT FILE}

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Header

Good Morning and thank you for joining us for another {AMAZING} project today!  We have a special surprise for you today… We’re guest posting for Heather Boney at The Frill of Life!  Be sure to hop on over to her blog to see all the {AMAZING} projects she has going on!  As blog-buddies in the Silhouette Challenge Group, I know she brings a wealth of inspiration to all her readers!

The Frill of Life

Ready to get in the mood for a little romance?  If you’re anything like me, Valentine’s Day is one of those holiday’s that seems to sneak up out of nowhere.  So, let’s check out a super cute Valentine’s Day project to spark some inspiration!

Introducing my first glass block craft…

20140120_205242_resized

Isn’t it {BEAUTIFUL}!  I am absolutely thrilled with how it turned out.  Crafting and candy?  That’s a win-win for me, LOL.  I put together a brief tutorial on how I created this Valentine’s beauty {AND} included the link to download the vinyl cut file put together by yours truly!

Supplies2

First, here are the supplies you will need…

  • Glass block
  • Six bags of Sweetheart candy conversation hearts
  • Ribbon
  • Vinyl*
  • LOVE Cut File

*If an electronic cutting machine is unavailable to you, don’t despair!  Just grab some craft paint (and stencil, if needed) and create your own design!

Tutorial

  1. First, cut and apply your vinyl design to your glass block.  I find it’s easier to line up the design with the block still empty.  You can download the LOVE Cut File for Silhouette Studio, if desired.
  2. Turn the block upside-down, fill with approximately six bags of conversation hearts (I used Sweetheart brand).  For the last few candy pieces, insert the large bottom stopper and continue to fill through the smaller opening.  You may have to shuffle pieces around to accommodate the space needed by the stoppers.
  3. Once filled, stretch out a length of ribbon, placing the glass block on top.  You should be able to adjust your ribbon by sliding it back and forth beneath the block.  Pull tight and tie a bow.  If using a sheer ribbon as I did, you may want to layer the ribbon a few times around the block for greater contrast.

And {TA-DA}, project complete!  How did yours turn out?  I’m sure it’s {BEAUTIFUL}!  Not only are these cute décor items to display for Valentine’s Day, these make wonderful gifts!  And with the simplicity of this project, I can think of plenty of people that would {LOVE} to receive one of these beauties!

What other designs can you think of for glass blocks?  Filled with {KISSES}?  Chocolate {HEARTS}?  Flower petals?  I’m excited to hear what everyone comes up with!  I’m sure Heather would too, so don’t forget about stopping by The Frill of Life and showing her some bloggy-love!

I have a lot of happenings going on in the next week {cough, cough… give-a-way… cough, cough), so be sure to check back frequently!  OR better yet, subscribe via email OR BlogLovin’ to get all my latest and greatest posts delivered to you!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

41 thoughts on “DIY Sweetheart Glass Block Tutorial {with FREE CUT FILE}

  1. Paula January 23, 2014 at 7:16 pm Reply

    This is sooooo adorable. Love it! I would love for you to share this great post at our WIW Linky Party. I hope you can join us.

    Paula

    • mypapercraze January 23, 2014 at 7:17 pm Reply

      Thanks for the invite, Paula! I’ll try to hop on over there now! Glad you like it!

  2. Dena January 24, 2014 at 3:59 am Reply

    Very cute! Thanks for sharing.

    • mypapercraze January 24, 2014 at 4:01 am Reply

      Thanks, Dena! Glad you could stop by!

  3. DeDivahDeals January 25, 2014 at 3:44 am Reply

    I have a son who would love to have this, but it would be gone in two days! Thank you for sharing and linking up at #WWDParty. Have a wonderful weekend.

    • mypapercraze January 27, 2014 at 12:05 am Reply

      Thanks! I know my kids keep a close eye on it. I wrapped the ribbon around the bottom just in case, LOL.

      • DeDivahDeals January 27, 2014 at 12:32 am

        Yes, and my son is 17 – lol!!!!

      • mypapercraze January 27, 2014 at 12:59 am

        LOL, I know the feeling… the oldest child in our house is 31… aka the husband 😉

      • DeDivahDeals January 27, 2014 at 1:11 am

        ROFL!!!

  4. Jennifer Johnson January 26, 2014 at 1:12 am Reply

    This is super cute. I think I must try this one.

    • mypapercraze January 27, 2014 at 12:06 am Reply

      Thanks, Jennifer! It was super fun and super easy!

  5. Angela (Life in Velvet) January 26, 2014 at 2:59 am Reply

    This is a fabulous idea! My husband would just die over this! Thanks so much for linking up at Thursday STYLE!

    • mypapercraze January 27, 2014 at 12:07 am Reply

      Thanks, Angela! It was our pleasure!

  6. Denyse @ Glitter, Glue & Paint January 26, 2014 at 4:17 pm Reply

    This idea is so cute. I wish I could take my Silhouette out of the box. It scares me…LOL

    xoxo
    Denyse

    • mypapercraze January 27, 2014 at 12:07 am Reply

      Oh, Denyse! Don’t be scared of it, I promise it doesn’t bite! You’ll be quick BFFs, LOL. Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Mini Wooden LOVE Sign | Dena Inspired January 27, 2014 at 2:53 pm Reply

    […] This sweetheart glass LOVE block is from My Paper Craze. […]

  8. Ruth January 27, 2014 at 6:29 pm Reply

    What a great idea! Love the idea of filling the block with something fun.

    • mypapercraze January 27, 2014 at 6:59 pm Reply

      Thanks, Ruth! You’re right, conversation hearts are fun for all ages! Glad you could stop by!

  9. Accidentally Wonderful January 30, 2014 at 1:32 am Reply

    Great way to use up those inedible candies =) They taste so bad in my opinion, but they are adorable! I’d love it if you’d share this at my link party, going on now! http://accidentallywonderful.blogspot.com/2014/01/accidentally-wonderful-wednesday-3.html

    • mypapercraze January 30, 2014 at 7:03 pm Reply

      We sure will! Thanks for letting us know! And yes, chocolate is so much better than these little cuties!

  10. Corey @ tinysidekick.com January 30, 2014 at 4:04 am Reply

    This is a great Valentine’s Day project! Thank you for linking up at The Makers!

    • mypapercraze January 30, 2014 at 7:03 pm Reply

      Thanks Corey, glad you could stop by!

  11. Kristina & Millie January 31, 2014 at 12:37 am Reply

    Too cool! and customizable too depending on the season or your candy tastes 🙂 Thanks for linking to Snickerdoodle Sunday!

    • mypapercraze January 31, 2014 at 2:56 am Reply

      This is by far one of my favorite projects! Thanks for checking us out!

  12. Katie February 1, 2014 at 4:40 pm Reply

    This so cute! Thank you for sharing on Create Link Inspire and I have featured you! I would love for you to stop by and grab a feature button. Thanks for sharing your talents. http://www.thecraftyblogstalker.com/2014/02/create-link-inspire-featuring-you.html

    • mypapercraze February 2, 2014 at 2:17 am Reply

      WOW, thank you so much for the feature! And thanks for stopping by!

  13. […] love this DIY Sweetheart Glass Block Tutorial from My Paper Craze for a teacher gift.  Quick and easy is my first […]

  14. […] that you check out each and every one of these {yes, they are that awesome} including our very own DIY Sweetheart Glass Block Tutorial {with FREE CUT FILE}!  Happy […]

  15. […]  DIY Sweetheart Glass Block Tutorial (with free cut file) from My Paper Craze.  Becky and Glenna over at My Paper Craze used filled a plain glass block with […]

  16. Gabriella February 5, 2014 at 2:10 am Reply

    What a great idea! I will be featuring your post on my blog (homemakinghearts.com) tomorrow and sending folks your way for instructions! Keep up the great work!

    • mypapercraze February 5, 2014 at 3:04 am Reply

      Thanks, Gabriella! We sure appreciate the feature!

  17. […] Sweetheart Glass Candy Block is sure to be a favorite for both young and old – who doesn’t like […]

  18. […] 4) I love looking at candy conversation hearts more than eating them. This is a fun idea to display them inside of a glass block with a vinyl LOVE sign on the outside. Free cut file for the vinyl and directions available at My Paper Craze. […]

  19. peaceloveandjoyce February 9, 2014 at 2:30 pm Reply

    I love everything about this glass block cookie jar. My only problem would be that as much as I love the way that the Sweethearts candy looks inside the glass block, I love eating them even more and soon the candy jar would be empty! Haha!

    This will make such a great Valentine’s Day gift! Thanks for sharing the tutorial and the cut file.

    I’m really honored that my “LOVE Banner” was included in the Silhouette “Valentine’s Day Round-Up” along with your great glass block candy jar!!!

    Peace, Love and Joy,

    Joyce
    http://peaceloveandjoyce.com/silhouette-cameo/

    • mypapercraze February 10, 2014 at 4:27 pm Reply

      I agree, it was such an honor for us to be chosen for the round up! So glad you could stop by and pay us a visit! We enjoyed your banner, as well!

  20. Create Link Inspire Featuring YOU! March 4, 2014 at 3:43 am Reply

    […] Isn’t this so cute!!  My Paper Craze shares a great tutorial on how you can make your own DIY Sweetheart Glass Block. […]

  21. […]  DIY Sweetheart Glass Block Tutorial (with free cut file) from My Paper Craze.  Becky and Glenna over at My Paper Craze used filled a plain glass block with […]

  22. Mindy January 13, 2015 at 3:16 am Reply

    What program do I need to open the file for the Sweetheart glass block?

    • mypapercraze January 13, 2015 at 3:28 am Reply

      Hi Mindy! Thanks for stopping by! This file can be opened in the Silhouette Studio (if you have a Silhouette Cameo or Silhouette Portrait electronic cutting machine). Let me know if you have any questions! You can email us at mypapercraze@gmail.com

  23. Melanie February 9, 2015 at 9:06 pm Reply

    Hi! Is there a way to open this file in Sure Cuts alot 2? Thanks!

    • mypapercraze February 13, 2015 at 8:17 pm Reply

      Hi Melanie, I don’t know much about Sure Cuts alot 2, can you open SVG files?

Leave a comment