{CUTE} Burlap Memory Jar!

WE’VE MOVED!WE'RE MOVING!

Check out this post and other crafty inspiration over at our new blog!

www.mypapercraze.com

 

Good Morning and Happy {SHORT} week to everyone who enjoyed the holiday yesterday!  Today, let’s take a walk down memory lane together…

Burlap Memory Jar

When you get to be my age (we’ll just say I’m 29… again, lol), long ago memories seem to slip through the cracks.  Oh sure, I remember taking the kids to Disney World, the first ballet recital, the first home run.  But think about all the everyday moments we take for granted…  the twinkle in their eyes and the excitement in their voice telling you about their first day of school…  how they had lettuce, meat, and some kind of shell for lunch and realizing they’ve never seen a taco before (!)…  talking to them about being old and they pat you on the arm and innocently look up at you and say, “You’re not old, you just look old”…  And you think to yourself how you’ll never forget this moment.  {SIGH}

Then as time goes by, one by one, those cherished memories fade away.  I tell my daughter this all the time, to write down these moments, but I don’t think she really believes me, lol.  When I saw memory jars popping up on different blogs and Pinterest, I knew this was the answer for me!  Not only to open it up and read them once a year, but to document all those memories that I know will be lost.  Thankfully, I have four grandchildren so I get a second chance to preserve these memories that with all the hustle and bustle of raising my children, I didn’t think to do.

photo-1

I kept my jar simple, decorating it just enough to sit on the kitchen island, which keeps it easily accessible.  I have my pen and small slips of paper handy!  After I’ve documented all those little moments, I’ll simple roll my papers up and place them in my jar to be relived over and over and over.  Can’t you just see me smiling with fond memories?

For my jar, I used black iron-on vinyl to cut my design on my Silhouette and ironed it onto a scrap piece of burlap.  I was actually surprised that this intricate cut adhered so well.  I hot glued the burlap around the center of my mason jar, wrapped jute twine around the ring and added a little bow just for fun.

photo-2

I hope all you Mothers and Grandmothers are finding a way to help preserve your precious memories.  A memory jar might not work for you, but be sure and find what does.  I promise, you’ll be so thankful you did… when you don’t just “look old”, you are old (LOL)!

Can you think of other uses for a Memory Jar?  How about Scrapbook journaling!  Be sure to share your project inspiration with us, we’d love to have your feedback!

Thanks for joining us again for this simple, but cute project today!  Be sure to check back later in the week for some inspiration for the upcoming Valentine’s Day!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “{CUTE} Burlap Memory Jar!

  1. Jennie January 22, 2014 at 2:06 am Reply

    This is so cute! I am doing a giveaway and would love for you to come by and check it out!
    XO, Jennie
    http://www.thediaryofarealhousewife.blogspot.com/

    • mypapercraze January 22, 2014 at 2:21 am Reply

      Thanks Jennie. I’ll come by, I’m a sucker for a giveaway!

  2. Ginny Marie January 23, 2014 at 1:24 pm Reply

    Great idea! I’ve wanted to start a “blessings jar” this year. I pinned it to my Jars board on Pinterest! 🙂 Stopping by from the Pin It Party!

    • mypapercraze January 23, 2014 at 1:33 pm Reply

      Thanks for stopping by Ginny and for the pin. I originally found this idea on Pinterest and just had to have one.

  3. vintagezest January 28, 2014 at 11:35 am Reply

    Congrats! You are featured on Vintage Zest! Feel free to grab a button and link up to Do Tell Tuesday this week too. 🙂 http://www.vintagezest.com/2014/01/do-tell-tuesday-8-with-features-co-host.html

    Diane @ Vintage Zest

    • mypapercraze January 28, 2014 at 5:38 pm Reply

      What a nice surprise. Thank you so much for the feature.

  4. Betsy Pool January 28, 2014 at 4:30 pm Reply

    Very cute – I love anything burlap. Thanks for linking up to Take it on Tuesday!!
    ~ Betsy @ Romance on a dime

  5. […] 1. Cute Burlap Memory Jar from Paper Craze […]

  6. Steph February 15, 2014 at 8:09 am Reply

    That is super sweet. I like the idea of keeping the memories like that! If you get a chance, I’d love to see this on my linkup: http://timeforseason.blogspot.com/2014/02/my-favorite-things-saturdays-215.html

    • mypapercraze February 15, 2014 at 8:17 am Reply

      Thank you Steph. You can’t go wrong with burlap and mason jars. I’ll stop by and check out your party.

  7. […] Bicycle Canvas Tote by The Life of a Craft Craze Mon Roasted Peppers by Simply Fresh Dinners {CUTE} Burlap Memory Jar! by My Paper Craze If you were featured feel free to grab your feature […]

Leave a comment